Breakthroughs in Plant Sciences

PSC Symposium 5 December 2018

Alexandros Sotiropoulos, UZH


Venue: ETH Auditorium Maximum HG F30, Rämistr 101, Zurich


This conference will present major advances in plant science research.

Participants are encouraged to present their own work during the poster session.

Program: Breakthroughs in plant sciences – from the lab to the world

Session Speaker Presentation title
9:00- 9:30
Prof. Beat Keller
University of Zurich and Plant Science Center
Highlights of PSC achievements in the past 20 years
SESSION I: Plant signaling and development
9:30 - 11:00
Prof. Cyril Zipfel
University of Zurich
Plant health and symbiotic interactions
Prof. Daphne Goring University of Toronto tba

Prof. Mark Estelle University of California, San Diego

Break and poster session
11:00 - 11:30
SESSION II: Plant ecology and evolution
11:30 - 13:00
Prof. Detlef Weigel
MPI Tübingen
Plant Genetics
Prof. Ansgar Kahmen
University of Basel
Isotope Analysis

Prof. Elena Conti
University of Zurich

Evolutionary Biology and Environmental Studies
Lunch and Poster Session
13:00 - 14:30
SESSION III: Technologies for plant improvement
14:30 - 16:00
Prof. Mark Aarts Wageningen University NL TBA
Prof. Luca Comai
University of California Davis
Prof. Caixa Gao
Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, CAS
Genome Editing in Crops
Poster awards and concluding remarks
Prof. Sam Zeeman
ETH Zurich, Head of PSC
Apéro at BQM Zurich
16:45 onwards

Organizing committee

• PSC doctoral students
Claudio Cropano
Sabrina Fluetsch
Maximilian Vogt
Tiago Miguel Dias Cruz
Alessio Maccagni
Miguel Loera Sánchez (Contact)

• PSC staff
Manuela Dahinden
Romy Kohlmann

Advisory board

Prof. em. Thomas Boller, University of Basel
Prof. Elena Conti, University of Zurich
Prof. Ueli Grossniklaus, University of Zurich
PD Dr. Günter Hoch, University of Basel
Prof. Dr. Stefan Hörtensteiner, University of Zurich
Prof. em. Christian Körner, University of Basel
Prof. Jonathan Levine, ETH Zurich
Prof. em. Bernhard Schmid, University of Zurich
Prof. Kentaro Shimizu, University of Zurich
PD Dr. Thomas Städler, ETH Zurich
Prof. Samuel C. Zeeman, ETH Zurich